Arts
Performing Arts

Theater

The goal of the Theater Department is to introduce students to the art of the theater as a means of individual and collaborative expression. Faculty members seek to inspire greater empathy and broaden each student’s perspective through the exploration of characters and concepts that expand our horizons and challenge our preconceptions.

Students who enroll in the elective courses offered are given the opportunity to explore the various aspects of theater in introductory, intermediate, and advanced classes. Whether a student has interest in acting, production work, or design, there are academic offerings to meet their interests. In tandem, or paralleling with the academic coursework, the Theater Department has an extensive co-curricular production program in which students can choose to be involved. Through these extensive offerings, the department seeks to engage with its students, developing in them both an understanding of and appreciation for the collaborative work that exists in theater.

We look forward to bringing you the following productions in the 2017-18 school year:

Upper School Theater

A Midsummer Night's Dream
By William Shakespeare
Friday, November 10, 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, November 11, 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, November 12, 2:00 p.m.

Middle School Musical

Robin Hood and the Singing Nun
By Stuart Ardern
Friday, December 8, 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, December 9, 7:00 p.m.

Upper School Musical

Leader of the Pack: The Ellie Greenwich Musical
Book by Anne Beatts
Music and lyrics by Ellie Greenwich & Friends
Based on the original play by Melanie Mintz
Additional material by Jack Heifner
Friday, February 23, 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, February 24, 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, February 25, 2:00 p.m.
Friday, March 2, 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 3, 2:00 p.m.

Middle School Theater

Around the World in Eight Plays
By Patrick Greene
Friday, April 13, 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 14, 7:00 p.m.

Upper School Theater

Spring Festival of One-Act Plays
Thursday, April 26, 7:00 p.m.
Friday, April 27, 7:00 p.m.

NCS-STA Annual Dance Gala

Saturday, April 28, 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 29, 2:00 p.m.
Located in Washington D.C.,  St. Albans School is a private, all boys day and boarding school. For more than a century, St. Albans has offered a distinctive educational experience for young men in grades 4 through 12. While our students reach exceptional academic goals and exhibit first-rate athletic and artistic achievements, as an Episcopal school we place equal emphasis upon moral and spiritual education.